From the 7th to the 8th of July 2023, the BRU Foundation and Pioneer Law Associates organized the 4th Bharat Raj Upreti Memorial Foundation Moot Court Competition (Arbitration) and Conference, 2023. The events were spread across 2 days, with Day 1 being hosted by National Law College, Lalitpur (NaLC). During Day 1, 10 teams from across Nepal participated in 4 Qualifying Rounds: twice as Claimant and twice as Respondent. The 2 Qualifying teams went up against each other on Day 2 before a Tribunal consisting of Senior Advocate Mahesh Thapa, Advocate Sameer Sharma, and Advocate Anup Raj Upreti. The moot problem was on the subject matter of cross-border electricity transmission with issues relating to Companies Law, Substantial Ownership and Effective Control, Force Majeure, Interpretation of Contracts, etc.

Day 2 started with the final rounds between teams from Kathmandu School of Law and Nepal Law Campus. This was followed by the book launch of the 2nd Edition (re-print) of “Bharat Sir Ko Company Kanoon” launched by the Hon’ble Justice Mr. Hari Prasad Phuyal of the Hon’ble Supreme Court of Nepal. The book launch was followed by a discussion program on “Contemporary Issues Relating to Companies Law in Nepal”. The Hon’ble Justice Mr. Hari Prasad Phuyal presided over this discussion as Chief Guest, and the panel consisted of Hon’ble Justice Dwarika Man Joshi, former Hon’ble Justice of the Hon’ble High Court at Patan; Hon’ble Justice Mahesh Sharma Poudel of the Hon’ble High Court at Patan; and Senior Advocate Mr. Mahesh Thapa. The discussion program also consisted of a questions and answers segment, which saw active participation from senior members of the judiciary, bureaucracy, and the bar.

The 10 participating law schools were from City Campus, Buddhist Lumbini, Butwal; Mid-Western University, Surkhet; Chakrabarti Law College, Kathmandu, Bright Vision Law College, Biratnagar; Kathmandu School of Law, Bhaktapur; Kathmandu University School of Law, Dulikhel, National Law College, Lalitpur (NaLC); Nepal Law Campus, Kathmandu; Gandaki University, Pokhara; and Prithvi Narayan Campus, Pokhara.

The Qualifying Rounds were judged by Mr. Semanta Dahal, Mr. Shirshak Ghimire, Mr. Prajwal Gyawali, Mrs. Pratima Burma Das, Mr. Avdhesh Pant, Mr. Pratik Karki, Mr. Shardul Thapa, Mr. Himesh Kharel, Mr. Rastra Bimochan Timalsena, Ms. Lajula Maharjan (Banla Madan), Mrs. Nida Doon-Malla, Mr. Ashankan Malla, Ms. Pratikshya Dahal, Ms. Bhawana Baniya, Ms. Usha Pandey, Mr. Resham Kandel, Ms. Ajita Singh, Ms. Ayasha Sharma, Ms. Anushka Bhattarai, Ms. Pratishtha Bhandari, Ms. Anushree Pande, Mr. Anjit Thapa, Mr. Kripesh Shrestha, Mr. Akshya Aryal, Ms. Dechen Gurung, Mr. Nikhil Dongol, Mr. Sahadev Khatri, Mr. Hardik Subedi, Ms. Sacista Shrestha, and Mr. Nirupan Karki.

The winning team was from Kathmandu School of Law. The 1st runners up was from Nepal Law Campus. The best speaker was Ms. Sonika Neupane from National Law College and the best memorial weas from Nepal Law Campus.


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Pioneer Law is full service law firm in Nepal.